2018 Review: London

In News on July 10, 2016 by dadge Tagged: ,

In the recent past, London’s borough boundaries were considered sacrosanct, and constituencies only crossed them in extremis. The new 5% rule on constituency sizes means that there will now have to be quite a few seats that include parts of more than one borough, but it doesn’t mean that we should abandon the boroughs as building blocks altogether. In working out a distribution plan for London, it’s best to start by looking at which boroughs can be dealt with on their own, and which blocks of boroughs can be formed from the remaining areas.

North East (17 seats)
Tower Hamlets 2.02 (2)
Hackney 1.98 (2)
Havering, Barking, Newham 6.13 (6)
Enfield, Waltham Forest, Redbridge 7.03 (7)

North West (24 seats)
Kensington 1.02 (1)
City, Westminster, Camden, Islington, Haringey 6.99 (7)
Hillingdon, Harrow, Brent, Hounslow, Ealing, Hammersmith, Barnet 16.18 (16)

South (27 seats)
Bromley 3.02 (3)
Kingston, Richmond 3.09 (3)
Croydon, Sutton 4.95 (5)
Lambeth, Wandsworth, Merton 6.94 (7)
Bexley, Greenwich, Lewisham, Southwark 9.09 (9)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: